Read Their Story And Make A Pledge Today

I am 35 years old and I am from London Ontario. I grew up in Kamloops. The first time I was homeless it was very scary. I was 29 years old and I slept in an alley alone and stayed that way for 5 years. For work I have done a little bit of everything. Automotive detailing was what I enjoyed the most. In the future I hope to work with people who are addicted. The things that have contributed more to my difficulties are drugs and most of all loosing all my kids. I never did drugs until I was 29. The hardest part is finding a home. The things that are going well for me are my partner and staying away from drugs. I would like other to pray for me to stay clean and to find a home. On a scale of 1-10 for happiness I would say that I am at a 5.

Wish List
  • Foot wear - 7 1/2

  • Hoodie - Medium - Pink or black

  • Warm winter coat - Medium - One solid color please :)

Gateway Shelter for Women and Men
Vernon, British Columbia

The John Howard Society began offering services to men and women in Okanagan in 1957. Originally based out of Kelowna the Society grew over the years, eventually providing services throughout the Okanagan, the Thompson region and the Kootneys. The shelter provides women emergency shelter in the downtown core area of Vernon for the absolute homeless who may be suffering from economic downturn illiteracy, addictions and/or mental health challenges.

Visit Website View more stories from Gateway Shelter for Women and Men